You Can Do This

Chaz and I really struggled to get where we are now. Letting go of fast food, pizza and eating out in general was a tough cookie for the both of us. We slipped numerous times. But what counts is that we have come back to veganism.

The support of a significant other tremendously increases the odds of sticking with something from my experience. I believe this to be the first time that the both of us has ever really been on board, 100% for being vegan at the same time. It was either he or I- never us.

I will say that this go round feels the easiest because of the commitment from the both of us. It’s not good to be staring longingly at whatever he’s eating while I’m chowing down on something vegan [even if it is totally delicious]. It’s like the “can’t have what I want” mentality staring you down every day. That’s no way to live in my opinion. Been there, done that and it sucks.

I believe that having solid reasons why you’re committing to veganism helps tremendously when trying to stick to your guns. Vanity never works. I’ve been on countless diets and I was always waiting for me to lose X amount of weight in X amount of time so I could get back to eating junk food. Now that 1) we’re eating this way for our health, 2) we’ve educated ourselves on how the human body responds to the food you give it for nourishment, 3) we know how animals are being abused by these gigantic corporations, 4) we see how obesity is second only to cigarette smoking as the cause of preventable deaths in the US, 5) we know how we feel when we eat SAD and when we eat vegan, there really is no way we can go back.

We both have medical history in our family backgrounds that is cause for concern. My biological father has Type 2 diabetes and depends on giving himself shots in his stomach 3-4 times a day so he won’t die. High blood pressure runs in Chaz’s family. We would rather not have to dump chemicals and medicine into our blood stream every day. So, instead we’re letting our food be our medicine.

The main point I wanted to make [outside of getting back to nature as a cure] is that getting a loved one to eat healthier can seem daunting. I know that when people other than Chaz tried to talk to me about my weight, I would shut them out. I felt attacked. I felt vulnerable. I felt ashamed and embarrassed. I would pretend to listen, roll my eyes and go right back to eating terribly, even if they had the best intentions. This goes on more than most realize. It’s a very touchy subject to a lot of people.

My advice is taken from Mahatma Gandhi-

“Be the change you wish to see in the world”

Think about it: when others see the changes you’re making in your life and the positive impact it’s having not only on your health but your outlook on life and your outward appearance, that will speak more than preaching ever will. It takes a lot of will power and time. This isn’t a microwave meal. This is your life.

Be prepared for naysayers. The only time in my life when I successfully lost a substantial amount of weight was when I went vegetarian and was interval jogging. Those two combined worked [imagine that!]. The people in my life at the time were totally negative about my choices and constantly seemed to be on a mission to deter me from becoming a healthier and happier person. But I knew that they were scared that I was changing. They didn’t know how to act so they lashed out at me. Needless to say, I cut them out of my life. Sometimes you just have to put yourself first.

If quitting cold turkey or deciding to become vegan overnight scares you, then start small. Start tiny. Start microscopic. Eliminate all of the transfats out of your diet. Research all of the possible sources of this fat and compare your findings to your current diet. If something you’re eating now has transfat in it, chuck it out of your life. If you’re ready to start a little bigger, cut out all of the pork from your diet, for example. Start as small as you need to in order to get on the right path.

One other bit of advice: GOALS

Make goals that are as tiny as your first change. Mini goals help me every day. I accomplish 15-20 mini goals every day of my life and it makes me feel like a champion. That may sound corny, but there’s no other way to describe that feeling. It’s a good feeling. It’s a positive in my life that I would never take away.

Even if you don’t have a Partner-In-Eating [as I like to describe Chaz] you can do this. Email me anytime if you need support or if you have questions. I’m not at my end goal yet so I’m right there with you, making better choices and dealing with the day-to-day struggles of life.

fruit.killer@rocketmail.com is my direct email address. Use it.

About fruitkiller

Wife. Vegan! Musician. Singer. Bookworm. Knitter. Crocheter. Co-Founder or ORGANARCHY. Co-Editor/Writer of the Organarchy blog. Voracious Comic Book Reader. Owner of Zombie Hand Productions. View all posts by fruitkiller

2 responses to “You Can Do This

  • Shelly

    I’m interested in learning more about how the human body responds to food… are there any “beginner” books you recommend?

    • organarchy

      I’ve just been doing my own research- massive amounts of online and cross-referencing. My goal of the ‘Being Human’ part of Organarchy was to put how our organ systems work individually and how everything amazingly talks to one another and allows us to function. We’re amazing creatures! So look for more articles and diagrams- probably once MoFo is done 🙂

Leave a Reply

