Vegan MoFo: Day Eighteen

 

Vegan Month of Food: Day Eighteen

I can’t believe it’s already Thursday making one it one more week until Thanksgiving! Last year on the holiday, Literate Zombie and I had a completely vegan meal that we both prepared. We made a HUGE batch of mashed potatoes with tiny cubed seitan pieces covered in a homemade gravy. That was it. Absolutely delicious.

I’m not really sure what we’re going to do this year. We haven’t really talked about it since we’re doing menus by the week now. All I know is that I hope mashed potatoes and homemade gravy make another appearance on the dinner table that night!

As for this evening, we’re having BRINNER! Brinner = Breakfast for Dinner. Warm homemade pancakes and from-scratch syrup will  be tantalizing our taste buds while fresh organic squeezed orange juice will wash it all down. I am ever so excited for this. I’m usually a waffle kind of gal, but I’ve had the taste of pancakes on my lips for a week or so.

So come back to read all about it tonight. I’ll also write a little review on the pancake recipe we’re using because it contains carbonated water. Interesting….

*************************************************************

I normally don’t do this, but because we had no leftovers to eat for lunch [’cause salad really is that good] we had to make something different for lunch. Yummy sandwiches and pretzels for mid meal! And I actually have some GOOD food pics taken in natural light. Feast your eyes on this, MoFoes…

 

Delicious little spinach leaf
Take a peep…

 

Here…
…gone.

Okay I’m serious this time. I’m gonna leave and not come back until after dinner…

**************************************************************

These pancakes were AMAZING! The syrup had a good flavor but the consistency started to change as it cooled off. It became more like molasses but that didn’t matter. Add in the buttery goodness of Earth Balance and all of that equates to an overly stuffed stomach and an aftertaste of yum in my mouth. Oh yeah and the fresh hand-squeezed orange juice? Just a big ol’ glass of awesome.

NOM NOM NOM!

The club soda seemed to add a special something. Literate Zombie says he wouldn’t make pancakes again without it or a cast iron skillet. A nice crisp edge on the cakes like those we tasted tonight only comes from cooking on cast iron.

I ate too much of this...but it was totally worth it

It’s been way too long since we’ve had pancakes. We found a waffle iron in the kitchen but we don’t know if it works. Time before beddy-bye is short tonight so we didn’t want to risk things not working out.

I remember thinking to myself “I can’t believe this is vegan!” while my mouth worked things out with the tasty stacks laid before me by the chef. I’m glad we ran with the idea for pancakes. Not a bad decision. Having brinner was a nice contrast to our savory dinners of late.

But as always, I’ve been looking forward to tomorrow night’s dinner since we came up with it:

Black Bean Sliders on Jalapeño Buns, Hand Cut Sweet Potato Fries with dipping sauces and Homemade Vanilla Cola

I just know it’s going to be good!

Read. Comment. Spread the MoFo.

Much Love,

Fruit Killer

Happy MoFo’ing!

 

About fruitkiller

Wife. Vegan! Musician. Singer. Bookworm. Knitter. Crocheter. Co-Founder or ORGANARCHY. Co-Editor/Writer of the Organarchy blog. Voracious Comic Book Reader. Owner of Zombie Hand Productions. View all posts by fruitkiller

4 responses to “Vegan MoFo: Day Eighteen

Leave a Reply

