Vegan MoFo: Day Twenty

 

Vegan Month of Food: Day Twenty

Good afternoon MoFoes! Today is Chipotle Chili Day [thus the festive bean banner]. What better kind of day to have warm and satisfying chili than on a cold, wet and rainy one like this? I will be in the kitchen chopping and dicing my way through onion, garlic and chipotle chilis to add to crushed tomatoes, black beans and red kidney beans. Simple tastes and perfectly seasoned is what I’m aiming for in tonight’s meal.

There’s only ten more days to go with Vegan MoFo. What an exciting project to be a part of. Literate Zombie really has outdone himself in the kitchen, if I may say so. I know we’ve heard several roommates comment on more than one occasion on the delightful smells undulating from the kitchen at one point or another this month! If that’s not motivation to keep things up, I don’t know what else is. Well, the taste of the food is pretty good motivation too!

After MoFo is done, I have a few reviews I plan on writing about Silk Nog and Silk Pumpkin Spice drinks. And of course, I’ll continue with my ‘Being Human’ series while Literate Zombie forges ahead with ‘Misadventures’. We’ll both get to work on filming the ‘Tutorials’ and writing about basic cooking skills. I really hope that Vegan MoFo has piqued the interest of some non-vegans. I suppose that that’s one aspiration among many for this project.

Okay. I have to get back to work, but I will eventually return with Chipotle Chili details after it has been prepped, cooked and eaten.

*****************************************************************

Okay so that was literally the spiciest food I have ever consumed. Wow! The chipotle really heated things up. So good!

Chipotle Chili

Crisp-tender green bell pepper strips, rough-chopped chipotle peppers, organic mushroom broth, crushed tomatoes, black and red kidney beans make up this sturdy rustic meal. Elemental taste contributes to simplistic elegance. Now I understand why Literate Zombie likes to eat chili very rarely; chili needs to be saved as a once-in-a-blue moon kind of event because chili done right is well-worth the time and effort put into making the “perfect pot”.

Literate Zombie also made an excellent little side salad that we split. Made up of alfalfa sprouts and fresh spinach, leftover cold sweet potato fries [yes they save much better than their Idaho spud counterparts] and covered in a stone ground mustard aoili dressing, it tasted like Georgia summer to me. Full of goodness with a Southern-style note thanks to the sweet potatoes. I want to make the fries again just so we can have cold ones to throw into a salad the next day!

My Kind of Salad

Also leftover from last night were some jalapeño breadcrumbs. We threw them on top of the chili along with some nutch to give it a cheezey element. I believe it complimented the spice well.

So what’s up for tomorrow? I don’t know and neither does Literate Zombie. It could be a rice stirfry or….?

Read. Comment. Spread the MoFo.

Much Love,

Fruit Killer

Happy MoFo’ing!

 

About fruitkiller

Wife. Vegan! Musician. Singer. Bookworm. Knitter. Crocheter. Co-Founder or ORGANARCHY. Co-Editor/Writer of the Organarchy blog. Voracious Comic Book Reader. Owner of Zombie Hand Productions. View all posts by fruitkiller

2 responses to “Vegan MoFo: Day Twenty

Leave a Reply

