Vegan MoFo: Day Twenty-Five

 

Vegan Month of Food: HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

It is officially Thanksgiving 2010. The cooking will commence around 1 and since we don’t have a dead bird that has to be in an oven for 8 hours, I think this will be the most relaxing holiday meal we’ve ever prepared.

On the subject of the holiday, I thought it appropriate to write about what I am thankful for. A very common path to take I know, but if I were to write of these things, now is the time.

I am thankful for my husband. He is the glue holding me together. A best friend in the truest sense, I would not be who I am today if it were not for him. He has opened my eyes to what life has to offer while showing me that acceptance of the very worst can only enhance the positive. I am at a loss for what I’ve done to deserve having him in my life. I am so very proud to be his wife, standing by him through whatever gets tossed our way. We’ve been together for a third of our lives and the fun hasn’t stopped yet.

I am also thankful for my in-laws. They are the only real family I know. They have accepted me for who I am and I feel no pressure to be anything but myself in their presence. I am proud to be a Quirk and to be a part of these people’s lives. I love them unabashedly and would fight to the death for them.

I am thankful that we have a roof over our heads and food in our stomachs. We are able to pay our bills because my husband has a job. We may not have many extras, but we’re happy.

I am thankful that we are vegan. I am proud to say that our lifestyle reflects what we believe in. I am thankful for Jenny Schnaak who re-inspired us to return to eating this way; her friendship is a true blessing in our lives.

I am thankful for the ability to play music. Being in a ukulele band and playing with other people has been such an amazing experience. We’ve made new friends who a big part of our lives now. I am thankful for my hearing, my voice, my hands, my sense of rhythm, the creativity music draws out of me and not being afraid to share my gifts with the world.

I will take as many pictures that I can of today’s festivities. Have a very warm, safe and happy holiday everyone!

**************************************************************

Read. Comment. Spread the MoFo.

Much Love,

Fruit Killer

Happy MoFo’ing!

About fruitkiller

Wife. Vegan! Musician. Singer. Bookworm. Knitter. Crocheter. Co-Founder or ORGANARCHY. Co-Editor/Writer of the Organarchy blog. Voracious Comic Book Reader. Owner of Zombie Hand Productions. View all posts by fruitkiller

One response to “Vegan MoFo: Day Twenty-Five

Leave a Reply

